What I’ll be reading this month..

I want to cultivate a regular blogging habit by at least posting once a week. But I’m reading slower than I’d like lately due to the vicissitudes of life and it’s already been two weeks,, I can see the cobwebs forming. So I thought I’d do an update on what I hope to read in May (and probably into June) which will be a welcome change from the monotonous succession of book reviews.

A Small Circus by Hans Fallada: I am currently reading this translated novel and so far it is a very interesting, complex, and bizarrely hilarious story set in 1929, Germany.

Death and the Dervish by Mesa Selimovic: Highly anticipating reading this next as I always am with Balkan literature. Translated from Bosnian; my very good Bosnian friend says its a heavy, dense but beautiful read. Just my kind of thing.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck:  I probably would not have picked this up on my own, but since my friend loaned it to me I’ll give it a try. I tend to steer away from reading too many American classics since I have been saturated with the genre from my younger, academic years. But I have high hopes for this one.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche: I avoided this one for a while, despite the hype, mostly because of my  weariness with the “struggles of immigrant life in the West”  theme, plus it’s a love story and I am not a fan of those…but in the spirit of challenging myself I hope to finish this one and work out my feelings and thoughts on it in writing.

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James: This is a massive book that has garnered a high degree of critical acclaim. I’m looking forward to it since it is an ambitious historical/socio-political/cultural lens into Jamaica which is new territory for me.

The Bamboo Stalk by Saud Alsanousi: Translated from Arabic. Themes of identity, race and class which I always love and set in Kuwait which is very appealing. I’m always on the hunt for fiction from the Gulf.

 

 

Posted in TBR

Leave a Reply

